The Flavours of Love by Dorothy Koomson

The Flavours of Love by Dorothy Koomson

The Flavours of Love is the latest novel from the internationally bestselling author, Dorothy Koomson, who brought us The Ice Cream Girls and The Rose Petal Beach. It tells the story of Saffron Mackleroy, a recently bereaved widow 18 months after the murder of her husband.

The book conveyed the emotions one experiences when they are bereaved. Saffron has tried to rebuild her life after the death of her husband Joel, by going through the motions of juggling the demands of being both a mother of two, as well as having a career. Alongside this Saffron is also trying to complete ‘The Flavours of Love’, a cook book Joel started to compile before his passing.

The narrative jumps between present day and various periods preceding the murder. This added to the unpredictable nature of the story. I found it gripping from the outset as a result, and was particularly intrigued about what would happen to her daughter Phoebe.

It was thoroughly enjoyable, and is certainly an example that one should not judge a book by its cover, as I’m not the type of person who reads books that looks like it could be chicklit.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s